FINAL RESULTS - Worcestershire County Council Elections - How the seats were won and lost in Malvern - The Malvern Observer

FINAL RESULTS - Worcestershire County Council Elections - How the seats were won and lost in Malvern

Malvern Editorial 7th May, 2021 Updated: 7th May, 2021   0

WITH all the results now in for the Malvern divisions, the district has finished up with three seats to the Conservatives, two to the Green Party, two to independents, one to the Liberal Democrats and no seats for Labour.

Below is how each of the seats unfolded in Malvern which, it has to be said, was one of the more unpredictable and exciting areas in this afternoon’s  Worcestershire County Council elections.

Malvern Chase

It was a dramatic start with the first announcement revealing Lib Dem Jack Satterthwaite had taken the seat from long-standing Conservative Lucy Hodgson who was the Cabinet Member with responsibility for Communities. He won the seat by 181 votes – 1,157 to 976. Independent John Gallagher was third on 702 and Labour’s Gregory Chance fourth with 257.


Gregory Chance – Labour – 257

John Gallagher – Independent – 702

Lucy Hodgson – Conservative – 976

Jack Satterthwaite – Liberal Democrats – 1,157  – ELECTED

Turnout – 42.73 per cent.


Malvern Trinity

The second result has seen the Green Party hold onto Malvern Trinity which was held by John Raine. It’s a new candidate – Natalie McVey – but same result as the voters continue to show their support for the Greens in that division.

Rachel Clutterbuck – Labour – 180

Natalie McVey – Green Party – 1,451 – ELECTED

Liam Thompson – Conservative – 730

Richard Whitehead – Liberal Democrat – 135

Rachel Clutterbuck – Reform UK – 90

Turnout – 38.76 per cent.



The Conservatives have held onto the Hallow seat. Scott Richardson Brown has been elected. He is a new candidate and follows in the footsteps of Phil Grove who won it for the Tories last time around. Mr Ruchardson-Brown saw off second-placed Independent Daniel Walton by 227 votes. Full result below.

Susan Dalley – Labour – 268

Jed Marson – Liberal Democrats – 289

Scott James Richardson-Brown – Conservative – 1,579 – ELECTED

Daniel Walton – Independent – 1,352

Turnout – 43.85 per cent.



There was another shock in the Croome result with long-term Tory Paul Middlebrough, who was also the Chairman of the county council’s Pensions Committee and Chairman of Pension Investment Sub-Committee and a past Wychavon District Council leader, being upseated by Green Party candidate Martin Allen. Mr Allen took it by almost 500 votes. That’s a gain for the Greens and the second seat the Conservatives have lost out of four Malvern divisions declared so far.

Martin Allen – Green Party – 1,755 – ELECTED

John Ellis – Labour Party – 99

Clifford Hobbs – Liberal Democrats – 73

Paul Middlebrough – Conservatives – 1,270

Turnout – 41.51 per cent.


The Tenbury seat was held by Conservative stalwart Ken Pollock and the seat remains a Tory stronghold this time around. David Chambers polled 2,109 – 1,674 more than the Green Party’s Peter Jones in second.


Christopher Burrows – Labour – 325

David Chambers – Conservative – 2,109 – ELECTED

Peter Jones – Green Party – 435

David Mead – Liberal Democrat – 162

Turnout – 36.68 per cent.

Malvern Langland

This could be the closest seat so far in the Malvern divisions with just 159 votes between Lib Dem Paul Bennett in third and winner – Independent Beverley Nielson. She took the seat from Conservative James O’Donnell who was sandwiched in between with 745 votes. That’s four different representations in the Malvern division now – I don’t think that’s happened anywhere else in Worcestershire today.

Paul Bennett – Liberal Democrats 656

Neil Morton – Labour – 388

Beverley Nielson – Independent – 815 – ELECTED

James O’Donnell – Conservative – 745

Turnout – 34.06 per cent.



Independent Tom Wells emphatically held onto this seat – defeating the Conservatives by 1,751 votes. Coun Wells was also Chairman of the Children and Families Overview and Scrutiny Panel and his popularity shone through in this poll.


Melanie Baker – Conservative – 786

Miles Edward Dudman – Liberal Democrats – 88

Aidan Stitt – Labour – 168

Tom Wells – Independent – 2,537 – ELECTED

Turnout – 43.86 per cent.

Malvern Link

The last seat of the day in Malvern was held by the Conservatives. Karen Hanks had a comfortable victory of 1,019 votes to Indepndent Peter Whatley’s 758 in second. Not far behind was Dee Tomlin from the Liberal Democrats, followed by Labour, a second independent and the Reform UK candidate.


Karen Hanks – Conservative – 1,019 – ELECTED

Michael Savage – Independent – 155

Sharon Taylor – Labour – 415

Dee Tomlin – Liberal Democrats – 662

Peter Whatley – Independent – 758

Max Windsor-Peplow – Reform UK – 77

Turnout – 39.41 per cent.


FINAL SCORES (Malvern divisions)

CON – 3, GREENS – 2, IND – 2, LIB DEMS – 1, LAB – 0


Overall make up of Worcestershire County Council 

Conservative 45 (+5), Labour  3 (-7), Liberal Democrat 4 (+1) Green 3 (+1) Independent 2 (=)


Advertise with the Malvern Observer to reach your audience

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Malvern Observer.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Malvern Observer.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.