Malvern author unveils latest Worcestershire medieval murder myster novel - The Malvern Observer

Malvern author unveils latest Worcestershire medieval murder myster novel

Malvern Editorial 22nd Apr, 2024   0

AN AUTHOR of Medieval mystery novels set in Worcestershire is about to release her latest book, based in Evesham during the 1100’s.

‘Wordsmith’ Sarah Hawkswood, who lives in Malvern, is gearing up to release the twelfth installment in her Bradecote & Catchpoll book series.

Her latest title ‘Litany of Lies’ kicks off in Evesham during Midsummer, 1145. It focuses on her detective team of Under-sheriff Hugh Bradecot, Serjeant Catchpoll and Underserjeant Walkelin who are called out to Evesham Abbey when the steward is found dead in suspicious circumstances.

As the sheriff’s men probe who had more reason to want Walter the Steward dead, they discover that truth is in short supply. With the tensions between the Abbey and the local castle guard reaching boiling point, another killing will force the investigation down a dangerous path.

The author says she is only really ‘happy when writing’.

She read modern history at Oxford University and first published a nonfiction book the Royal Marines in the First World War before moving onto her medieval mysteries series in Worcestershire.

Her previous titles include Servant of Death/The Lord Bishop’s Clerk (2014), Ordeal by Fire (2017), Marked to Die (2018), Hostage to Fortune (2020), Vale of Tears (2020), Faithful Unto Death (2020), River of Sins (2020), Blood Runs Thicker (2021), and Too Good to Hang (2023).

Sarah’s Litany of Lies will release on May 23, 2024.

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Malvern Observer.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Malvern Observer.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.