28th Jul, 2017

New Dyson Perrins ward member co-opted in by Malvern Town Council

Craig Gibbons 15th Mar, 2017

MALVERN Town Council has announced Matthew Fletcher as the new councillor for the Dyson Perrins ward.

Four people applied for the vacancy and following a ballot at last Thursday’s extraordinary general meeting, Mayor of Malvern Coun Cynthia Palmer confirmed Coun Fletcher had been co-opted.

The vacancy in the Dyson Perrins ward arose following Michael Charles’ resignation in January, and as Malvern Hills District Council, who manage local elections, confirmed they did not receive the required number of valid requests for a by-election, the vacancy had to be filled by co-option.

Malvern Town Council confirmed a by-election will be needed for the final Dyson Perrins ward vacancy following Julian Roskams’ resignation last month.